Week 45 – Pink’s Hot Dogs

Pink's Hot Dogs
Location: Just south of Hollywood
Price: $

It was another week for some more classic food in Los Angeles. This week made up for my terrible Dodger Dog from week 38, because we got “America’s Top Hot Dog” at Pink’s Hot Dogs. You can find Pink’s at some amusement parks, fairs, and stadiums, but we visited the original Pink’s and had some hot and scrumptious hot dogs.

My Experience

I’ve passed this restaurant many times, and from the road it looks like a tiny hot dog stand. I was surprised as I approached the stand to see that there is actually an inside and a back patio with seating. I had imagined we would have to eat our hot dogs standing up, but Pink’s offers lots of places to sit. I chose the chili cheese dog, which comes with onions and mustard. This is the third time we’ve gone to a famous L.A. eatery and found the staple to include chili!

It took just a minute for our order to be ready. My dog was delicious, but so filling. Pink’s hot dogs are more classic than they are unique – the chili dog tastes exactly how you’d expect. There was a full bowl of chili on top of my hot dog, which made it messy to eat but fully satisfying. I couldn’t even finish the whole hot dog, but I enjoyed the portion I ate.

Parking and Paying

There is free parking behind Pink’s. Enter on La Brea, or else the parking attendant will tell you to turn around. We saw plenty of street parking spaces as well. We went late at night, when parking is easier – the spaces are definitely harder to come by during the day

Hot dogs are about $5. Special dogs, including titles like the “Martha Stewart Dog” and the “Lord of the Rings Dog,” are about $8. You can also get burgers, nachos, fries, or a bottle of Mexican Coke.

Pink’s is open Sunday-Thursday, 9:30am-2:00am, and Friday-Saturday, 9:30am-3:00am.

A Little History

Paul Pink set up a tiny hot dog cart in 1939, which has since grown to be today’s famous hot dog stand, beloved by the city of Los Angeles. Back in 1939, the hot dog stand was in a remote area. This is hilarious to imagine now, since its home has becomes one of the busiest streets in Los Angeles. In 1946, Pink’s expanded into a permanent building, which is the same building that sits there now. Pink’s is famous, and famous people like to go there. Check out some of the stars who have visited Pink’s!

Leave a comment